The Anti-TBR Tag

It’s time for a tag, and today I’m doing the anti-TBR tag as it looked like something a little different! This was a tag I first saw on Abyssal Librarian’s blog here.

1) A popular book EVERYONE loves that you have no interest in reading?

Now that I’ve got into BookTube more this year, I’m seeing books that a lot of BookTubers will all read, and it does often make me consider reading the title! However, I would say that I’ve seen a lot of people mention Beach Read and I don’t have much (if any) interest in this one.

2) A classic book (or author) you don’t have an interest in reading?

Tricky one as I do like to read a classic now and again. I’m going with The Iliad as I just don’t think I would enjoy that kind of thing at all.

3) A problematic author whose books you have no interest in reading?

I’ve usually read the book before I then find out that the author is problematic! I guess I’m not really that interested in reading the works of Brandon Sanderson, even though I’ve seen his books mentioned widely.

4) An author you have read a couple of books from and have decided their books are not for you?

Ooh, great question! I’ve scrolled through my Goodreads, and although this isn’t a specific author, I am going with YouTuber/celebrity authors. I was very against reading them at first, then I gave a couple of titles a try, but I think that I will mostly steer clear of books written by celebrities.

5) A genre you have no interest in OR a genre you tried to get into and couldn’t?

I like to read from a wide range of genres, but sometimes I struggle with literary/experimental fiction. Sometimes I love it, and sometimes I really don’t. Sometimes nothing at all happens in these books and I just can’t get into it. I think I need to try and be more picky when I do decide to dip into the world of experimental fiction!

6) A book you have bought but will never read (this can be a book you have unhauled/returned to the library unread)

I’m generally quite good at reading books I own, or at least trying them. I did however borrow The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man and decided to return it unread, as I just wasn’t feeling it – even though I really enjoyed the first one!

7) A series you have no interest in reading OR a series you started and have DNF’d

There’s a couple of series that I’ve started and given up on, one of which is Broken Sky by L.A. Weatherly. I really liked the idea of this, but I did not enjoy the first book so I won’t be reading any more in the series.

8) A new release you have no interest in reading

I’m going to be honest (and controversial) here and say Barack Obama’s book, mostly because it’s so expensive! I’m more interested in reading Michelle Obama’s book, which I’m hoping to read very soon!


One thought on “The Anti-TBR Tag

Leave a comment